45334 views| 248 comments
Copyright © 2000 Sarah Phillips CraftyBaking.com All rights reserved.
Flour that we use in baking, is a powder milled from grinding grains, nuts, legumes, and some fruits and vegetables. They are either WHEAT derived or from NON-WHEAT sources, Some contain gluten, while others are free from it, called GLUTEN-FREE, meaning they do not contain wheat, rye, barley and other gluten-containing grains and their derivatives. Wheat free, however, does not mean a product is definitely gluten-free. If truly gluten-free, make sure it has been processed and packaged in a gluten-free facility to avoid contamination. Always read ingredient labels carefully.
Flour is the main ingredient of bread, a staple food for many cultures around the world. The word "flour" is originally a variant of the word "flower". both derived from the Old French fleur or flour, which had the literal meaning "blossom," and a figurative meaning "the finest." The phrase "fleur de farine" meant "the finest part of the meal," since flour resulted from the elimination of coarse and unwanted matter from the grain during milling. (Wikipedia)
All flour and grains are not alike--you can't switch from one type to another without wrecking havoc with your recipe. (I have found that flour substitutes do not work as well as they should, anyway, just because there's more things to consider besides flour type, such as ash content.) It is extremely important to use the right type that is of a good quality.
5269 views| 0 comments